Social media



Faster Forward (2014)
Full Length (Self-released)



"Progressive Aggressive Metal"

Upon the well received Coma Horizon -single (2016), Finland's Humavoid continues demonstrating their take on progressive metal that was introduced on 2015's Glass EP. With influences ranging from extreme metal to modern pianism and jazz fusion, Humavoid combines heavy polyrhythmic grooves with rich harmony. With vocals altering between the crystal clear lines of vocalist/pianist Suvimarja Halmetoja and the trademark growl of guitarist/vocalist Niko Kalliojärvi (Amoral, ex-Tracedawn), the dynamic standard is set.

The fact that their 2015 Glass EP gave the band "album of the week" status in the Finnish webzine and "band of the month" feature in Inferno Magazine (the #1 native magazine specialized in metal) among other praising and - most of all - fascinated reviews speak for themselves. Humavoid is at home with the challenging task of molding complex and catchy music into one distinguishable sound. The band's focus is on songs that are hard-hitting and cohesive, despite the underlying complexity of the genre.

In support of Coma Horizon, the band also released a self-produced music video - something that has become a sort of habit along the way. Not necessarily a bad one though, as their previous video (Glass) hit the 100 000 view mark in less than 6 months (currently +250 000 views) on the Metal Monks YouTube channel.

As of 2018, the band has teamed up with Heikki Malmberg (Diablo) - one of the most technically proficient drummers around - for a full length release. The band is currently shifting from pre-producion phase towards recording the album.


"What interested me most about this release was the song structure and how over the top the band can be with their writing. - - Weird breakdowns, dissonant piano touch-ups, vocal melodies that are all but predictable." - Lords of Metal 80/100

"Closing track 'Eyeshine' with its melodic chorus maintains the powerful momentum of the previous 2 tracks, and ends what is an impressive EP." - 8/10

"A fairly fresh band, but they do seem like they are onto something with their formula so far." - Deadrhetoric

"Kolmen biisin EP:ssä ei ole yhtään turhaa kohtaa tai niin sanottua täyteriffiä - - Ammattitaitoista ja biisit edellä tehtyä musiikkia, joka kestää kuuntelua valtavasti." - (viikon albumi 52/2015) 9-/10

"Koneentarkka soitto, jykevyydestään ja kaoottisuudestaan huolimatta tarttuvan melodiset sävellykset, ennakkoluulottomuus ja suora hulluus paiskaavat sopusoinnussa kättä ja nyrkkiä kaikkien turpaan. Poikkeuksellisen vahva avaus." - Inferno 2/2016 (kuukauden bändi)


Suvimarja Halmetoja - vocals & keys
Niko Kalliojärvi - guitar & vocals
Jan From - bass
Heikki Malmberg - drums (session)


Live photos by Janne Pappila -